Halloween Creature Features


Though Halloween 2009 is over, you can see one of my favorite memories from a past Halloween right here: http://tinyurl.com/yzpfhf9

This year on the 30th, my wife and I went to the Tampa Theatre with author Terri Garey and her husband Bob, and author Michael Joy, to see a double feature of THE MUMMY (1932) and FRANKENSTEIN MEETS THE WOLF MAN. THE MUMMY surprised me, because I’d only seen it as a kid and I remembered it being spectacularly boring, but I think that’s because I wanted to see the bandage-covered shambling monster, not Pharaoh Karloff, and the wrapped mummy is only in it for one brief scene at the beginning. But it’s actually a pretty darn good movie!

FRANKENSTEIN MEETS THE WOLF MAN proves that, no matter how bad things get, you can solve all of life’s problems by blowing up a dam. Sure, I already knew that, but it’s good to see this theory reinforced in motion picture form. 

On Halloween night, I put THE EVIL DEAD on just as background noise, but ended up sitting there and watching it. This is why I don’t put movies on as background noise. Once the surprisingly small wave of trick-or-treaters stopped (leaving me with about 15,219 packs of Sour Patch Kids and Swedish Fish) I watched PONTYPOOL, a sort-of zombie movie about a DJ trapped at the radio station while the outside world goes nutzo.

There’s a lot that I liked in PONTYPOOL. However, once they explain what’s going on…I dunno, I appreciated the originality of the concept, but it was a bit too weird for me. Oh, trust me, I’m all in favor of weird, but…well, I’m not going to give it away. I’ll give PONTYPOOL a big thumbs-up as an effective movie that gives us something different, and if nothing else it will help restore some of the brain cells you lost if you saw TRANSFORMERS 2.

And then I watched REC, which I guess is technically called [REC]. It’s the original Spanish movie that was remade as QUARANTINE. The big difference is that in [REC] you can tell what’s going on, whereas QUARANTINE loves its shaky-cam, and thus [REC] is far scarier and more intense. I wish I’d seen it first. 

So…Halloween is over. All of my personal appearances for 2009 are over. Back to writing…

Leave a Reply

