Night of the Living Dead: The Play


This weekend I saw Night of the Living Dead: The Play. For the first half, I was worried that what we were actually seeing was Night of the Living Dead: Just the Boring Parts. The lengthy “Barbara chased by the graveyard zombie” sequence at the beginning of the movie was cut way down for obvious reasons, and the doomed attempt to fill the truck with gasoline happens off-stage…but we DID get the entirety of Ben’s tedious monologue about how he arrived at the farmhouse. 

But…it’s ZOMBIES! On stage! Eating people! And though it took a while to deliver the zombie flesh-eating mayhem, once it got there, the play delivered in a big way. Whatta finale! After it reached the spot where the film ends, I thought “Okay, this play has completely redeemed itself.” But then things took a complete shift in tone, and suddenly we were in a shamelessly silly comedy! The curtain call provided more entertainment value than the entire rest of the play! I’m not sure if this is part of the show itself, or just something that the Jobsite Theatre in Tampa came up with (so I won’t give it away), but it made me wish they’d taken a goofier tone with the rest of the show. 

The last thing I saw at the Jobsite Theatre (Clive Barker’s History of the Devil) was much better, but I definitely got my money’s worth with Night of the Living Dead: The Play.

I repeat: Zombies! On stage! Eating people!

2 Responses to “Night of the Living Dead: The Play”

  1. David Jenkins Says:

    Thanks for coming out, Jeff! And thanks for checking us out before with Devil (I was the director of both the ’99 and ’08 productions of that, not sure which you saw)

    The Thriller ending (I can say it now, the show is closed) was added by director Chris Holcom as a fun encore. That credit goes to him.

    I hope you can make it out to see another show, apart from our Hallowe’en stuff. 🙂

    If you’re interested in checking out an awesome British sex farce, we open What the Butler Saw in January. Drop me a line if you’re interested, I might even be able to do you a favor for opening weekend.

    Best,
    -dj

    Like

  2. jeffstrand Says:

    Hi, David! I saw the 2008 production of HISTORY OF THE DEVIL and loved it. That and AVENUE Q were my two favorite theatre experiences of the year.

    I knew going in that there was a big surprise at the end of NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD, but dancing zombies (and extremely well-choreographed dancing zombies) were NOT what I was expecting!

    I’m always interested in checking out awesome British sex farces!

    Like


Leave a Reply

