2009: The Year In Movies


I think I saw fewer movies in 2009 than I have any year of my life since the ages of 0 – 3. So instead of a Top 10 list, I’m presenting a list of random facts that are of little interest, but fulfill the universal need to summarize a calendar year.

FAVORITE MOVIE: Paranormal Activity

FAVORITE MOVIE THAT I’M KIND OF WORRIED I WON’T LIKE AS MUCH THE SECOND TIME: Paranormal Activity

STUPIDEST MOVIE: The Fourth Kind

FAVORITE COMEDY: In the Loop

FAVORITE MOVIE THAT, WHEN I SAW THE TRAILER, I WAS ALL LIKE “YEAH, WHATEVER,” BUT THE SPECIAL EFFECTS WERE INDEED MIND-BLOWING AND I’M ASHAMED OF BEING A DOUBTER: Avatar

FAVORITE MOVIE THAT I MANAGED TO GET OUT OF HAVING TO SEE: New Moon

FAVORITE HORROR FLICK THAT I SAW ON DVD: Tie: Cold Prey and [REC]

FAVORITE MOVIE IN WHICH I HAVE A 10-SECOND CAMEO: The Uh-Oh Show

FAVORITE MOVIE IN WHICH MY 2-SECOND CAMEO WAS CUT: Brainjacked

COMEDY THAT WAS KIND OF FUNNY, TO BE SURE, BUT NOT AS GOOD AS EVERYBODY SAID: The Hangover

MOVIE THAT WAS ENTERTAINING ENOUGH, BUT IS NOTHING–NOTHING–COMPARED TO SHAUN OF THE DEAD: Zombieland

FAVORITE ANIMATED FILM NOT MADE BY PIXAR: Coraline

MOVIE THAT I LOVED, BUT, DUDE, THOSE LOOOOOOOONG DIALOGUE SCENES FEEL LIKE THEY’VE BECOME SELF-PARODY: Inglourious Basterds

LAST MOVIE I SAW IN 2009: There Will Be Blood, a couple of years late

MOVIE THAT I HAD FREE TICKETS TO, AND YET STILL COULDN’T QUITE WORK UP THE ENTHUSIASM TO GO SEE: Friday the 13th remake

MOVIE THAT I MOST THOUGHT WAS GOING TO SUCK AND DIDN’T GO SEE: Halloween II

MOST ANTICIPATED FOR 2010: SURVIVAL OF THE DEAD.

Leave a Reply

