Movies & Music & Stuff


Yesterday I saw THE BOOK OF ELI. I loved the first hour. I loved the second hour somewhat less. Still a good movie, but no DAYBREAKERS. (Since I regard author and video game designer Richard Dansky as a model of intelligence and good taste, I momentarily questioned my love for DAYBREAKERS when he devoted a blog entry to how bad the movie was…but, no, I think he’s merely had one sorbet too many…)

I also re-watched a movie for a fun project that I don’t think I’m supposed to talk about yet. There are few things better than watching a movie like this and saying “That’s right–I HAVE to watch this movie! I’m WORKING! I’m being PRODUCTIVE!” I also have to rewatch ROBOCOP for an essay I’m writing for a book about great science fiction movies. Life is good.

And…last night I finally got to see Jonathan Coulton live in concert, since his tour has brought him to Florida. If you’re the kind of person who would visit this website, there’s a good chance you’re familiar with Jonathan Coulton, but if not, just know that he does funny music with a high geek quotient. “Re: Your Brains” is probably his most popular, but other great songs include “Skullcrusher Mountain,” “Creepy Doll,” and “I Feel Fantastic.”

Yet as great as Jonathan Coulton was, I’ve gotta admit that I loved the opening act even more. I’d heard that Paul and Storm were really good, and I was looking forward to seeing them, but I hadn’t actually listened to their music before the show. I think I was biased because “Paul and Storm” sounds like it should be one of those obnoxious, unfunny Morning Zoo radio shows. But they were funny, relatively tasteless, had great stage banter, and were genuinely talented musicians. All of their CDs now reside on my iPod.

Today I gave a 90-minute talk on how to write humor to the Tampa chapter of the Florida Writers Association. I didn’t see any scowling faces in the audience and nobody gave me the finger when it was over, so I think it went well. They sold raffle tickets for the opportunity to sit next to me at lunch afterward…and people bought them! I hope that the lucky winners feel they got their $1 (6 for $5!) worth.

Leave a Reply

