Angry Birds Has Not Sucked Away My Life


Of course, I don’t have Angry Birds on my iPad, and will not be getting it, leaving me free to continue to write novels and stuff. I did, however, get a game called Hector: Badge of Carnage, which is an adventure game in the style of those 80’s-90’s games with the ridiculous puzzles that I loved so dearly, which have been pretty much replaced by hidden object games. Oh, I like hidden object games, don’t get me wrong, but they’re no Day of the Tentacle / Full Throttle / Grim Fandango / Monkey Island / Broken Sword / Freddy Pharkas: Frontier Pharmacist / The Longest Journey etc.

To demonstrate the amazing movie-watching power of this new device, I watched an episode of Mystery Science Theatre 3000 featuring a grainy black-and-white film and finally finished watching Troll 2, which I’ve been watching in 10-minute increments over the past few months. Worst movie ever? If you exclude Birdemic: Shock and Terror, I was inclined to agree until the very last scene. However, I maintain that the final moment of Troll 2 is so dark and twisted that it removes the film from Worst Movie Ever consideration. Sorry.

I still haven’t seen Best Worst Movie, the Troll 2 documentary, because these days I’ve become a slave to Netflix Instant Watch.

4 Responses to “Angry Birds Has Not Sucked Away My Life”

  1. Guybrush Threepwood Says:

    Your adventure list, though etcera’d, still needs Quest for Glory, Space Quest and Leasure Suit Larry. Now I can continue to weep nostalgically. How it makes me long to here the words, “It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a Grue.”

    Like

  2. jeffstrand Says:

    I never really liked the Sierra games as much as the LucasArts ones, though I did really enjoy Leisure Suit Larry 7.

    Like

  3. Jim Says:

    For straight on adventuring, I preferred the Sierra games. A bit more RPG-like perhaps, though well before I got interested in any RPGs. But for superior game play, you couldn’t beat Lucas, going all the way back to LOOM. Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade and especially Indiana Jones And The Fate Of Atlantis were two of only a handful of games I’ve ever finished and played again.

    Like

  4. Kyle L. Says:

    Bejeweled will last you until the end of time, lol…

    Awesome that you’re having fun with your new toy though 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

