Movie Marathon!!!


I have lots and lots of writing and various other things to do…which I’m going to start tomorrow, because today is MOVIE MARATHON DAY!!!

First feature: the last 20 minutes or so of BRUTAL MASSACRE, which so far has delivered some hilarious jokes, some lame jokes, and some scenes that seem like nobody could think of a joke so they just moved on to the next scene.

UPDATE #1: BRUTAL MASSACRE is a lot of fun, though not as funny as an episode of PROJECT GREENLIGHT. Lots of the gags don’t really go anywhere, but it does have some very amusing moments. Next up: the second half of RUBBER.

UPDATE #2: RUBBER is bizarre even by the standards of a movie about a killer tire with telekinetic powers. Next feature: DOGTOOTH!

UPDATE #3: The first half of DOGTOOTH could be called WHAT THE F**K IS GOING ON?: THE MOTION PICTURE. We’ll see if all is explained in the second half…

UPDATE #4: All was most certainly not explained. What a weird, weird, weird movie. But I liked it. Next: LAID TO REST.

UPDATE #5: LAID TO REST is fast, gory, kinda dumb, and definitely an above-average slasher pic. I haven’t decided what’s next…

UPDATE #6: …and it turned out to be LAKE MUNGO, which is very tame as far as scares go, but a surprisingly gripping fake documentary. Even with the ghost stuff, if they cut one scene, somebody could have told me that this was a real documentary and I never would have doubted it.

FINAL UPDATE: I watched about half an hour of the NIGHT OF THE DEMONS remake, which I can’t fairly judge because it hasn’t really had much in the way of demons yet, and the first hour of THE REEF. I’ll probably finish up THE REEF in time for SHARK NIGHT 3D, which I hope is more like PIRANHA 3D than JAWS 3D.

9 Responses to “Movie Marathon!!!”

  1. Kyle L. Says:

    You sir, are a strange one. But that’s why we like ya! Enjoy your movie marathon day off, eat lots of popcorn!

    Like

  2. Jim Says:

    Submitted for your approval, a quirky looking one that caught my eye. It’s next on my to be watched pile.
    Tucker & Dale vs Evil — http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0hJSCqqIs4

    Like

  3. jeffstrand Says:

    TUCKER & DALE VS. EVIL is at the very top of my list, but I’m seeing it with some friends (along with RED STATE) next weekend!

    Like

  4. Jim Says:

    I know, how about one of my all-time favorite Saturday afternoon so bad it’s good selections — Children Shouldn’t Play with Dead Things. Unfortunately, it’s not available to watch instantly. (But if you haven’t seen it, you’re welcome to borrow mine.)

    It’s hard to recommend any to you, since despite how many I’ve seen, you’ve probably lapped me twice.

    Like

    • jeffstrand Says:

      I haven’t seen that in about 20 years, though I’ve got the DVD (it was something like two bucks, combined with THE UNDERTAKER AND HIS PALS). Between around 1986 and 1993, I watched a ridiculous number of horror movies, but since then I don’t think I’m more well-viewed than the average horror fan, so you may have lapped ME twice!

      Like

      • Jim Says:

        I did find something that sounds very similar on the instant play list which might have to get some viewing when everyone goes to bed around here —

        The Dead Hate the Living!

        Shooting a gory movie in a creepy abandoned hospital, a group of horror film buffs stumbles across a corpse and decides to use it in their flick. Bad idea: Their tampering unleashes an army of zombies eager to show the crew what horror is all about. Naturally, all manner of mayhem, flesh-munching and carnage ensue in writer-director David Parker’s tongue-in-cheek homage to the Italian horror genre.

        Like

  5. Jim Says:

    OK, one more I picked up used that I actually found in the back of a Justice League of America comic (might have been Batman, for the record.) Turned out to be not too bad, in the “I didn’t expect much from it to begin with” vein. Also not available for instant viewing.

    Flight of the Living Dead

    During a transatlanic flight, a corpse emerges from the cargo hold and lays waste to the passengers, turning them into zombies. A handful of travelers try to stop the ghoulish horde, but how do you fight the undead at 30,000 feet above the ocean? The living passengers get wildly creative in this wickedly funny, fabulously bloody gore fest written and directed by Scott Thomas and starring David Chisum, Kristen Kerr, Dale Midkiff and Sarah Laine.

    Like

    • jeffstrand Says:

      FLIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD was a fun movie, although unlike you I went in with high expectations (thanks to a Dread Central review) and it didn’t live up to ’em.

      I’ve never seen THE DEAD HATE THE LIVING. For some bizarre reason I thought it was a 60’s British horror flick!

      Like

  6. Jim Says:

    I haven’t seen Lake Mungo yet, but I do have it. Every year Santa brings Zack the MLB Extra Innings package for the coming season and the current After Dark Horror Fest releases, which works out nicely for me. We’ve currently got all 4 years, but I’ve only seen most of the first year. Plus when I picked up my copy of Hobo With A Shotgun, I grabbed the 4 After Dark Originals. I’ve been working my way through Husk 10-15 minutes at a time while I fold laundry in the bedroom. I’m getting very near the end and it’s been pretty good all along.

    Like


Leave a Reply

