The Mayhem Trilogy Returns…

Yes, kids, December 2011 will finally bring the long-awaited (if you’re youthful and 2004 seems like a lifetime ago) or short-awaited (if you find yourself saying things like “Are the holidays here already?”) fourth novel in the Andrew Mayhem series, Lost Homicidal Maniac (Answers to “Shirley”). 

But I’m not here to talk about that one. Instead, I’m here to talk about the new digital editions of the first three books: Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary), Single White Psychopath Seeks Same, and Casket For Sale (Only Used Once).

These are not the first e-book editions of the Andrew Mayhem novels. In fact, the first two novels were originally e-book exclusives, back when you SUCKED if your books were only available digitally. But, in preparation for Mayhem IV, the Kindle editions went away for a few months, and now they’re back with shiny new covers (by Lynne Hansen) and polished up words.

Q: How much have these books been revised?

A: Tweaks here and there. If you printed both versions out, placed the pages on top of each other, and held them up to a light, you’d see a lot of small changes to Graverobbers and occasional changes to the other two. But basically they’re the same books. There’s no “Author’s Preferred Edition” because editors never made me mess with the books in a way that caused me to scream “You’re compromising my creative vision, you corporate fiends!”

Q: So if I’ve already read them, should I buy them again?

A: They’re only $2.99 each. If your copies are boxed up and you’re not 100% sure where they are and there might be spiders in there with them, and you want to refresh your memory for the fourth book, then yes. Or if you originally read them on a Gemstar Rocket Reader and want to start your new Kindle Fire experience off right. Otherwise, nah. But tell all of your friends to buy them for sure.

Q: Do they contain sample chapters of other books?

A: No.

Q: Why the hell not?

A: Because when I’m reading a book, and I think I’ve got another 10-15 pages left, I get really annoyed when the book suddenly ends and there’s a preview for another book. Am I the only person who feels this way? If I am, I’ll totally add all the sample chapters you want, but they just tend to piss me off.

Q: Do I need to read the books in order?

A: Not really. The three books (and the fourth) are self-contained adventures, though there’s a continuity that runs through the series, and later books have spoilers for the earlier ones. Obviously, the best way to enjoy the Mayhem Experience is to read ’em in order, but you can skip ahead to Casket if you want, no problem.

Q: I’m convinced! Gimme gimme gimme some links!

Graverobbers Wanted (No Experience Necessary)…

Amazon Kindle Edition

Smashwords Edition (almost all other e-book formats)

Single White Psychopath Seeks Same…

Amazon Kindle Edition

Smashwords Edition 


Casket For Sale (Only Used Once)…

Amazon Kindle Edition

Smashwords Edition

Q: What about Nook or Apple versions?

A: Those feed over from Smashwords. So they’ll be available soon.

Q: E-books can just bite me. What about print editions? Where can I get those?

A: Pretty much anyplace you order books. Such as Amazon.

Q: I can’t wait…these are gonna be sweeeeeeeeeeeeet…[wipes drool off chin].

A: Thanks!


%d bloggers like this: