Cult Movie Mania on May 4th!!!


For the past several weeks, Cult Movie Mania has had a fantastic film series at the Tampa Pitcher Show, including great stuff like Slime City Massacre, Bellflower, The Theatre Bizarre, Chillerama, Father’s Day, Dear God No, and The Uh-Oh Show. But on Friday, May 4th, they’ll have a show so SHOCKING, so THRILLING, so GASP-INDUCING, so SENTENCES LIKE “HOLY CRAP I CAN’T BELIEVE I AM FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO BE SITTING IN THE THEATRE WATCHING THIS EVENT!” INSPIRING, that you’ll want to bring an underwear sponge with you!

The evening consists of three short films: Andy Lalino’s gross-out masterpiece “Filthy,” JB Whirley’s “The Psycho Dish,” and…wow, a long-lost film by the legendary Ed Wood, “The Final Curtain!” (It’s actually the pilot for a TV series that never aired, and based on the few minutes I saw, it is awesomely bad.)

But that’s not all! There is also a “live theatre” element, consisting of three ghoulishly funny skits written by highly acclaimed moderately acclaimed occasionally acknowledged author Jeff Strand (me) and performed by members of the Cheap Little Punks, joined by Joel D. Wynkoop!

And it’s only ten bucks. Short horror flicks and live theatre! You can’t possibly have any better options on a Friday night. The insanity starts at 9:00 PM at the Tampa Pitcher Show, 14416 North Dale Mabry Highway, Tampa, Florida.

2 Responses to “Cult Movie Mania on May 4th!!!”

  1. Jim Says:

    Two words for Edward D Wood Jr’s THE FINAL CURTAIN — BRILLIANTLY BAD! The absence of dialog (the story is told in narration) lent itself well to some classic overacting. If this thing ever comes to DVD, I’m going to be compelled to buy it, it was that bad. In fact, I’m really going to have to track down some more of his films. I still find it difficult to believe that some of his movies were that bad, yet not on purpose?

    Hopefully you won’t think less of me (or maybe, your opinion of me may soar!) but I REALLY enjoyed the two short films before. Even more so than the feature, it that is possible. FILTHY was every bit as good (repulsive!) as I expected it to be, and it made it to the top of my “must purchase” list. Sorry Dr. Seuss, THE LORAX

    Like

    • Jim Says:

      (arrgh!) … has just been bumped to the number two slot. THE PSYCHO DISH was awesome in its own right. Messy, to say the least, and after further consideration, it may have to bump THE LORAX to number three.

      Saving the best for last — the live theater! All three were really entertaining, but for my tastes, the stand-out (oooh, a pun?) had to be the cannibal one at the end. I wouldn’t have had to know in advance that you wrote that one, it screamed your name to the audience. I’d like to suggest it be included in your next collection.

      I’m going to have to investigate cultmoviemania.com and see if they offer any kind of box set deal. If they revive this series again in the future, I’ve already given my notice to the powers that be (everyone in the house but me, it seems 🙂 that I will require those nights off.

      Like


Leave a Reply

