Happy 2013!


Welcome to 2013! I realize that by most calendars, 2013 has been going on for almost two weeks, but I started the New Year with visiting relatives in town (which is good) and then the flu (which is less good), so it’s only now that I’m finally updating my website with my Favorites of 2012 list!

Disclaimer: I am not omniscient, so if YOUR favorite entertainments of 2012 are not on this list, it’s just because I didn’t consume them. We have the exact same taste, which is why you enjoy my books so much.

Here we go…

FAVORITE MOVIE: Django Unchained. I spent most of 2012 wavering between The Cabin in the Woods and The Raid: Redemption, but the last movie I saw of the year turned out to be my favorite. Quentin Tarantino’s best movie so far. 

FAVORITE BOOK: Very few of the books I read in 2012 were actually published in 2012, so it’s a pretty narrow field, but I loved the hell out of Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Though I loved One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper almost as much. 

FAVORITE CD: Do you know how many CDs I bought this year? Two. This is because I am now one of those old people who doesn’t like contemporary music. Which means that this is a two-way race between Stephen Lynch’s Lion and Dar Williams’ In The Time of Gods. Do I give it to the filthy, hilarious, offensive lyrics, or the poetic ones? I’m going with the filth: Stephen Lynch.

FAVORITE TV SHOW: Survivor had one of its all-time best seasons in 2012, but the season before that (they do two a year) was below average. Breaking Bad, meanwhile, gets better and better every year. So: Breaking Bad.

FAVORITE VIDEO GAME: I don’t have time to play video games, unless you count Words With Friends. I wish I did. I want to discover for myself why Portal 2 is so awesome. But I shall never know……………………

I promise that my Favorites of 2013 List will not take until January 12, 2014. 

6 Responses to “Happy 2013!”

  1. Muriel Says:

    Yay for Stephen Lynch and Double-Yay for Portal 2. I’m a potato! You know, you should really make some time for that. Try Portal 1 if you haven’t already, it’s much shorter, I got through in one evening, and I’m not that good of a gamer. If you have, you know why 2 is so awesome, because it’s the same, just more of it.
    As for Django Unchained, we’ll have to see about that. I still need to decide whether I like Tarantino at all.
    Have a nice 2013.

    Like

  2. Kyle L. Says:

    Portal is quite the fun puzzle game, I really like it. Words With Friends is a lot of fun too. Django was fantastic, just saw it last week.

    Like


Leave a Reply

