Update on Writing Stuff (August 28th edition)


Still working on my novel Kumquat, which is 99% certain not to be called Kumquat when I send it to my agent. I’d hoped to have it done by the end of August, but it won’t be, which is no big deal because HA!!! I don’t have a deadline! I can finish it whenever I want! (But it’ll be done soon.) 

Thus far the only foreign language my books have been translated into is German. That’s not changing yet. But I WILL have my short story “Eight-Legged Vengeance” translated into French for an anthology next year. 

I reviewed the edits for my short story “The Fierce Stabbing and Subsequent Post-Death Vengeance of Scooter Brown” for the anthology Piercing the Darkness and answered a question from the editor about a shameful continuity error.

And I continue to update my list of ideas for that wolfy sequel…

 

8 Responses to “Update on Writing Stuff (August 28th edition)”

  1. Jim Says:

    Aww, fudge! What did I miss?

    Like

    • jeffstrand Says:

      On page 2, the narrator says that he stabbed Scooter Brown behind the bar. On page 9, we find out that it happened in a van. Foolish! I’m so very foolish!

      Like

      • Jim Says:

        Ow.

        I’m fired, aren’t I.

        In my defense, I got caught up in the zaniness. It couln’t be helped.

        Like

      • jeffstrand Says:

        Also in your defense: I called it “shameful” for comedic effect, but it’s actually one that was easy to miss. I sure as hell didn’t notice, and I wrote the story!

        Like

  2. Muriel Says:

    For the record: I would buy Kumquat. Kumquat is a great title for a book.

    Like

    • jeffstrand Says:

      I really like the title, but this book doesn’t have a publisher, and I feel like KUMQUAT could be an automatic strike against me. “KUMQUAT? Why would I want to read a book about a kumquat?”

      Like

  3. Kyle L. Says:

    Better than calling it Avocado 😛

    Like


Leave a Reply

