BBQ Signage


When my wife and I were in North Carolina a couple of weeks ago, Rich Dansky and Melinda Thielbar took us to their favorite BBQ place. It was indeed truly delicious. Nom nom nom.

I’m mentioning it here because I took a picture of the sign. Ignore the hilarious wood-related material and look at that pig. It’s traditional for barbecue signs to feature pigs taking delight in the fact that they’re going to be devoured, but this particular pig is different. His expression says “I take pleasure in the torture and consumption of my own kind. You’re gonna squeal.” That is one sadistic frickin’ pig.

Image

Meanwhile, over on Facebook, Wendy Latham shared this photo, which is about as demented of a pork promotion sign as I’ve ever seen. There’s even blood on the bandage!

Image

If you’ve seen any (real!) BBQ signs that are equally or more deranged, please feel free to post links to photos in the comments section.

8 Responses to “BBQ Signage”

  1. Wendy Says:

    There is a BBQ Pit in town as soon as I go in I will snap a picture because it’s a great demented pig. I will have to figure out how to post you a link on here if I can’t I will tag u in Facebook. I am so technologically backward. Are you making a coffee table book of DEMENTED BBQ signs? I would definitely buy that if somebody made one. I am tagging u in face book with a game I found.

    Like

  2. Jim Says:

    BBQ Signage — coincidence, or the subtle threads of a new promotion?

    Like

  3. Marie Let's Eat Says:

    If you don’t mind me swinging in with a link to my page, I’m a particular fan of a beast that I call the Cannibal Cook Pig, who shows up at quite a few restaurants around the south:

    http://marieletseat.com/2013/08/02/that-pigs-not-going-to-cook-himself-or-is-he/

    But Big Woody up there is completely awesome as well. I just don’t trust that swine.

    Like


Leave a Reply

