Update on Writing Stuff (October 11 Edition)


What better way to share the unspeakably exciting life of a writer than by updating my website at 10:53 PM local time on a Saturday night?

Not a lot of variety in this week’s writing projects. I’m deep into the second chapter of my stand-up comedian novel, which may be called Flop Sweat or it may be called Riding the Light or it may be called something completely different. It’s pretty filthy, and for that I apologize even before I’ve finished the second chapter. I will probably wuss out on the first couple of paragraphs at some point, but for now, they stand as written.

And today I wrote the first 1000 words (of 4000) of Alien Face, a short story that will be a chapbook for the awesome White Noise Press. A few years ago they published Funny Stories of Scary Sex, which continues to get me the most website hits, and it’s guaranteed to be one snazzy looking product. The story isn’t due until the end of November, so the fact that I’ve even opened a Microsoft Word document for it is insane.

Meanwhile, I got a “So, how’re things going on _______?” message, so I’d better get back to work on that…

2 Responses to “Update on Writing Stuff (October 11 Edition)”

  1. Jim Says:

    Wow, where do I start?

    A new novel. *Like*
    Flop Sweat as a title (to anything!) *Like*
    Filthy paragraphs (hopefully to be read before/if they get shredded.) *Like*
    A new short story. *Like*
    A chapbook! *Love*
    White Noise Press. “Love again!” (I have Funny Stories of Scary Sex and the book is pretty darned nice.)

    But wait! What’s this? A short story that’s been started six weeks before the deadline instead of six hours? Like Bigfoot, UFOs and the Loch Ness Monster, I’ll keep an open mind that such a thing exists.

    Like

    • jeffstrand Says:

      The “sneak peek” I sent you has the first two paragraphs that may or may not get cut. Don’t expect any scorching-hot sexxxy romance, though.

      Like


Leave a Reply

