Write or Die


I’m reaching the end of my novella Freezer. It should be done tomorrow, barring any emergencies or laziness.

When a book really starts moving, and I know what’s ahead for the next few pages, my favorite writing tool is Write Or Die. It’s a program where you say how many words you want to write, and how quickly you want to write them.

Then you write. If you stop writing for too long, the screen starts to turn a foreboding red. If you continue to be a slacker, annoying music will play, or a scary spider will suddenly pop up to frighten you into being more productive. You can also put it in kamikaze mode where, if you stop writing for too long, it will start deleting what you’ve written…but that’s too wacky for me.

A legitimate part of the writing process is staring at the wall trying to figure out what’s going to happen next. But when I’ve got a pretty good idea of where I’m going, and I want that extra little bit of motivation, this program is a useful, if slightly sadistic, tool.

 

One Response to “Write or Die”

  1. Jim Says:

    HA! Awesome.

    Like


Leave a Reply

